You are here

State & Tribal Government Working Group (STGWG)

In April 1989, ten governors wrote a letter to then-Secretary of Energy Watkins, to express their concerns regarding the management, cleanup, and disposal of radioactive and hazardous chemical wastes at Department of Energy (DOE) facilities within or adjacent to their states boundaries.

In May 1989, then-Secretary of Energy Watkins, invited each governor to appoint a representative to participate in the planning process for the Department's Five-Year Plan through membership in a State and Tribal Government Working Group (STGWG). The Secretary also invited representatives from the Yakama Indian Nation, the Shoshone-Bannock Tribes, the National Governors' Association, the National Conference of State Legislatures, and the National Association of Attorneys General to participate. STGWG first met in June 1989.

The Department of Energy provides funding for a single representative from each affected State and Tribe to participate in the meetings of the STGWG. In addition, DOE funds technical, administrative, and facilitation support to this body. The Department is funding STGWG support and participation through a cooperative agreement with the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).

Participating Tribes, States, and Organizations

STGWG is composed of policy-level representatives of states and tribes that host DOE facilities or are otherwise impacted by activities at DOE facilities.  Its composition offers a unique perspective on issues such as long-term stewardship, tribal issues, transportation planning, nuclear waste and materials disposition, and deactivation and decommissioning activities.


Tribal representatives are appointed by the governing bodies of their respective tribes.

Confederated Tribes and bands of the Yakama Nation Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
 Isleta Pueblo Jemez Pueblo
Navajo Nation Nez Perce Tribe
San Ildefonso Pueblo Santa Clara Pueblo
Seneca Nation of Indians Shoshone-Bannock Tribes


State representatives are appointed by and represent the governors of member states.

California Colorado Georgia Idaho
Illinois Kentucky Missouri Nevada
New Mexico New York Ohio Oregon
South Carolina Tennessee Texas Washington


STGWG also includes representatives from various national associations of government officials, appointed in accordance with the procedures of their respective associations.