Department of Energy Quadrennial Technology Review Capstone Workshop

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Washington Hilton - Washington, DC

8:00-8:30 Registration & Continental Breakfast

8:30-9:00 Welcome: Dr. Steven Koonin

IBR East Under Secretary for Science, U.S. Department of Energy

Opening Remarks: Dr. John Holdren

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Director of the White House Office of Science and

Technology Policy, and Co-Chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

9:00-10:25 Panel 1: Transportation

IBR East Introduction: David Sandalow

Assistant Secretary for Policy & International Affairs, U.S. DOE

Panelists: Stephen Brand (ConocoPhillips), Andrew Brown (Delphi), Bill Provine (DuPont), David

Vieau (A123)

10:25-10:45 Break

10:50-12:15 Panel 2: Stationary

IBR East Introduction: Patricia Hoffman

Assistant Secretary for the Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, U.S. DOE

Panelists: Ron Binz (Colorado PUC, retired), Mark Brownstein (EDF), Richard Cowart (Regulatory

Assistance Project), Mike McQuade (UTC)

12:15-12:45 Lunch

IBR West

12:45-2:30 Keynote: Dr. Steven Chu, Secretary of Energy

IBR West Panel 3: Role of DOE: Technology Policy

Panelists: Bill Brinkman (DOE), Kathleen McGinty (Element, LLC), Daniel Schrag (Harvard), David

Terry (ASERTTI), Sue Tierney (Analysis Group)

2:30-2:45 Break

2:45-4:15 Panel 4: Balancing the Portfolio

IBR East Introduction: Dr. Arun Majumdar

Senior Advisor to the Secretary/ARPA-E Director, U.S. DOE

Panelists: Eileen Claussen (Pew Center), Ernie Moniz (MIT), Dennis McGinn(ACORE), Phil Sharp

(RFF),

4:15-5:00 Closing: Dr. Steven Koonin

IBR East Under Secretary for Science, U.S. Department of Energy