With the passage of [http://www.arkansasenergy.org/media/261385/act736.pdf HB 2230 (2009)] in April 2009, the Arkansas Legislature expanded a tax incentive for manufacturers of windmill blades or components. A full income tax exemption is available for business that meet certain criteria, including locating in the state before December 31, 2007. Businesses that locate in the state after January 1, 2008 are eligible for a partial income tax abatement.
The Sustainable Building Design Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) is funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA). The Arkansas Energy Office granted the Arkansas Building Authority $11,370,000 to administer a loan program to state buildings incorporating new energy efficiency measures budgeted over $250,000. Funds are available on a continuing basis.
A 2004 amendment to the state constitution authorizes the state to attract super projects by issuing bonds to fund a project’s infrastructure, limited to 5% of the net general revenues during the most recent fiscal year. Super projects are defined as ones that create at least 500 new jobs and invest more than $500 million.
The Storage Tanks regulations is a set of rules and permit requirements mandated by the Arkansas Pollution and Ecology Commission in order to protect the public health and the lands and the waters of the State of Arkansas. They are promulgated pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated 8-7-801 and the Petroleum Storage Trust Fund Act 8-7-901. It covers all storage tanks, above (AST) and underground (UST).
It is the purpose of this regulation to adopt standards applicable to the storage, discharge, or disposal of any waste which, if unregulated, will cause pollution of waters of the state or result in wastes being placed in a location where it is likely to cause pollution of the waters of the state. These standards are intended to protect public health and the environment, and prevent, control, or abate pollution.
SourceGas offers its Arkansas residential and commercial customers mail-in rebates to help replace old, out-dated equipment with new energy- and natural gas-saving equipment. Customers must purchase qualifying items and provide a valid receipt with their rebate application to receive a rebate. Customers can call a toll-free number or visit the program website for more information.
Arkansas offers several limited, specialty licenses for solar thermal installers under the general plumbing license. There are three specialty classifications available for solar thermal installers: a Restricted Solar Mechanic license, a Supervising Solar Mechanic license, and a Solar Mechanic Trainee classification. Installers with a Restricted Solar Mechanic license can install and maintain systems used to heat domestic hot water, but are not allowed to perform any other plumbing work.
The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) offers low-interest loans to small businesses to institute pollution control measures required by state or federal law, or to institute pollution prevention and waste reduction measures. Energy efficiency projects are also eligible for these loans. Loan applications can be found on the program web site or interested applicants can contact the Business Assistance section of the ADEQ.
The Rules and Regulations for Control of Ionizing Radiation are the Arkansas state laws made in accordance the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission Rules. Any contractor with the US DOE or US Nuclear Regulatory Commission is exempt from the state laws. This set of rules and regulations basically restates the federal policy to ensure that Arkansas is in compliance with the federal standards governing nuclear energy. Specifically the State rules are equivalent to Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) rules in 10 CFR Parts 19, 20, 30, 31, 32, 33, 35, 40, 61, 70, 71, 150.
The Regulations of the Arkansas Plan of Implementation for Air Pollution Control are applicable to any stationary source that has the potential to emit any federally regulated air pollutant. The purpose and intent of Regulation 19, as amended, is to provide a clear delineation of those regulations that are promulgated by the Commission in satisfaction of certain requirements of the federal Clean Air Act, 42 United States Code (U.S.C.) §§ 7401 et seq., as of July 1, 1997, and the federal regulations stemming therefrom.