La Plata Electric Association (LPEA) offers a one-time rebate, not to exceed the cost of the system, to residential and small commercial customers who install a photovoltaic (PV), wind or hydropower facility. To be eligible for the rebate, the system must be grid-tied and located in LPEA's service territory. Systems 10 kilowatts (kW) or smaller are eligible for an upfront incentive based on the nameplate capacity and other factors. Systems greater than 10 kW are eligible for a performance-based incentive.
La Plata Electric Association (LPEA) offers a variety of rebates for members to improve the efficiency of homes and facilities. Rebates are available for a variety of Energy Star appliances, the recycling of a refrigerator or freezer, electric water heaters, permanent electric heat, energy efficient motors, heat pumps, and commercial lighting measures.
In December 2005, the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC) adopted standards for net metering and interconnection, as required by Amendment 37, a renewable-energy ballot initiative approved by Colorado voters in November 2004. The PUC standards generally apply to utilities with 40,000 or more customers and all cooperative utilities.* [http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2008A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/062FC08A... H.B.
Holy Cross Energy, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, has developed a voluntary carbon reduction strategy designed to slow the growth of carbon dioxide emissions created in the generation of electricity used by consumers. Eligible equipment includes CFL and LED bulbs, programmable thermostats and insulation. A home energy audit may also be available to participating customers. See the program web site for full details, an application, and important contact information.
Holy Cross Energy's WE CARE (With Efficiency, Conservation And Renewable Energy) Program offers a $1.50-per-watt DC incentive for renewable energy generation using wind, hydroelectric, photovoltaic, biomass or geothermal technology. Of the $1.50 per-watt payment, $1.00 serves as the rebate payment, and $0.50 serves as a payment for the renewable energy credits (RECs) the system is expected to produce. Payments are not to exceed 50% of actual installed costs, and the maximum rebate per installation is $9,000.
Holy Cross offers a wide variety of prescriptive rebates for energy efficient equipment purchased by its commercial customers. Equipment must be replacing existing working equipment to qualify. The rebate application specifies the type of equipment the new equipment must be replacing. Customers must provide invoices/receipts for the new equipment and proof that the old equipment has been properly disposed of or recycled. The incentive amount cannot exceed 50% of the actual cost of the retrofit/upgrade.
Gunnison County Electric Association (GCEA), a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, has a residential rebate program for eligible Energy Star appliances including clothes washers, dishwashers, refrigerators, freezers, water heaters, ground source heat pumps, electric thermal storage systems. All efficiency requirements set forth by GCEA must be met in order to receive rebates. Rebates must be requested within 180 days of installation.
In July 2005, Colorado’s governor signed Executive Order D005 05, mandating that state agencies and departments evaluate business operations and implement new programs “to promote environmentally sustainable and economically efficient practices.” State buildings are encouraged to incorporate the U.S. Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) practices for existing buildings to the extent applicable and practicable, and in new construction when deemed economically feasible.
In January 1999, the Colorado Public Utility Commission (PUC) adopted regulations requiring the state's utilities to disclose information regarding their fuel mix to retail customers. Utilities are required to provide this information as a bill insert or as a separate mailing twice annually, in April and October of every year. The PUC provides a suggested format for the disclosure. Fuel mix percentages are to be based on the power supply mix for the previous calendar year.
Fort Collins Utilities offers a number of appliance and recycling rebates to residential and small commercial customers. The appliance rebate program offers a $50 rebate for Energy Star rated clothes washers and $25 for Energy Star dishwashers. Applications for equipment rebates are available on the Fort Collins web site as well as at select local manufacturers and retailers. Fort Collins Utilities also offers a refrigerator/freezer recycling program. The program provides free pick-up services for the recycling of old appliances and a $35 rebate per unit.