In 1998 Wisconsin enacted Act 204, requiring regulated utilities in eastern Wisconsin to install to an aggregate total of 50 MW of new renewable-based electric capacity by December 31, 2000. In October 1999 Wisconsin enacted Act 9, becoming the first state to enact a renewable portfolio standard (RPS) without having restructured its electric-utility industry. Wisconsin's RPS originally required investor-owned utilities and electric cooperatives to obtain at least 2.2% of the electricity sold to customers from renewable-energy resources by 2012.
Wisconsin has two sales tax exemptions that apply to renewable energy. Legislation enacted in 1979 exempts wood sold as a fuel for residential use from the state sales and use tax (Wis. Stat. § 77.54(30)). Residential use means use in a structure or portion of a structure which is the person's permanent residence. A clause was added in 2007 expanding the exemption to include sales of all biomass -- as defined in Wis. Stat. § 196.378 (1) (ar) -- used as fuel for residential use. This definition includes wood, energy crops, biological wastes, biomass residues, and landfill gas.
'''''Note: The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSC) issued an order in September 2013 which suspends incentives for Solar Thermal and Solar Photovoltaic (PV) systems for the remainder of 2013. Focus on Energy will continue to provide incentives for Geothermal technologies until funds have been exhausted. The summary below describes the program as it existed before the solar incenitves were suspended. '''''
'''''Note: This program is no longer accepting applications. See the program web site for information regarding future solicitations. '''''
Wisconsin Focus on Energy offers a competitive grant to support the deployment of large renewable energy projects. Grant recipients and projects must be located in a participating electric or gas utility's service territory. The program web site above contains an interactive tool to assist people in determining their eligibility for different programs.
Relocated Business Tax Credit or Deduction is available for an income tax holiday to businesses that relocate to Wisconsin if they have not done business in the state during the two previous taxable years. The company must also move at least 51 percent of the business workforce payroll or at least $200,000 of the workforce wages to Wisconsin during the year the credit is claimed.
Chapter 31 of the Wisconsin Statutes lays out the regulations relevant to dams and bridges on or near navigable waters. This statute establishes that the Department of Natural Resources has regulatory oversight of all such structures, and describes the permitting and inspection process for dam construction, maintenance, and operation. Dam construction is expressly limited or prohibited on several rivers and river segments, including the Brule River and the Lower Wisconsin State Riverway.
WI Act 7 states that, when proposing the purchase or construction of an electric generating facility, a utility may "apply to the [WI Public Service Commission] for an order specifying in advance the rate-making principles" that the Public Service Commission will use for "future rate-making proceedings."
This statute seeks to regulate radioactive materials, to encourage the constructive uses of radiation, and to prohibit and prevent exposure to radiation in amounts which are or may be detrimental to health. Any installation of ionizing radiation equipment must be registered with the State.
This entry lists the states with Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) policies that accept generation located in Wisconsin as eligible sources towards their RPS targets or goals. For specific information with regard to eligible technologies or other restrictions which may vary by state, see the RPS policy entries for the individual states, shown below in the Authority listings. Typically energy must be delivered to an in-state utility or Load Serving Entity, and often only a portion of compliance targets may be met by out-of-state generation.
These regulations describe standards relevant to reclamation that must be followed both during and after the completion of mining in a given area. An operator who wishes to engage in nonmetallic mining must obtain a mining reclamation permit, which sets standards for the eventual reclamation of the site. Additional provisions apply for mining for transportation purposes and mining that occurs near waterways. Subchapter II of these regulations sets standards for oil and gas exploration and production.