In determining that the use of solar energy "can help reduce the nation's reliance upon imported fuels," Georgia encourages the development of solar-energy systems. Accordingly, under Georgia's Solar Easements Act of 1978, easements may be established to allow owners of solar-energy systems to negotiate for assurance of continued access to sunlight. Any easement must be created in writing and is subject to the same requirements as all other legal easements. The easement must contain:
The Shore Protection Act is the primary legal authority for protection and management of Georgia's shoreline features including sand dunes, beaches, sandbars, and shoals, collectively known as the sand-sharing system. The value of the sand-sharing system is recognized as vitally important in protecting the coastal marshes and uplands from Atlantic storm activity, as well as providing valuable recreational opportunities.
Sawnee EMC offers a rebate of $300 per kilowatt (kW) to residential customers who install photovoltaic (PV) systems that meet the cooperative's [http://www.sawnee.com/Rate%20Pdfs/NEM%20Rider.pdf net metering guidelines]. The rebate applies residential customers with PV systems up to 10 kW in capacity. Because incentives are subject to change without notice, interested customers should contact Sawnee EMC to ensure that a specific project is eligible for a rebate under this program.
Sawnee EMC provides a variety of rebates for residential customers building new energy efficient homes or making energy efficiency improvements to existing homes.
The Energy Efficiency Existing Home Rebate Program offers rebates for attic insulation upgrades, HVAC tune-ups, hybrid water heaters, and appliance recycling. In order to qualify for the rebates, members must first have a free on-site evaluation performed by a Sawnee EMC Energy Service Representative (ESR). Measures recommended by the ESR then qualify for the rebate once they have been completed and inspected.
Sawnee EMC provides a variety of rebates for commercial customers who wish to upgrade the energy efficiency of eligible facilities. If recommended by a Sawnee Commercial Marketing Representative (CMR), commercial customers can receive rebates for the installation of high efficiency lighting, solar film window tinting, energy management systems and equipment upgrades that result in peak demand reduction. To receive this rebate, the CMR must inspect the facility both before and after the equipment installation. All Sawnee EMC requirements must be met in order to receive rebate.
Satilla Rural Electric Member Corporation offers the HomePlus Loan Program to members to install energy efficient improvements in their homes. Members can receive financing for improvements in areas such as heating and cooling, insulation, windows and doors, and weatherization items. There are three tiers of loans which vary depending on amount of the loan:
$500 - $3,000 have a 7.9% APR up to 24 months
$3,001 - $7,500 have a 7.9% APR 25 - 60 months
For more information on the HomePlus Loan Program, see web site.
Georgia allows an annual state and local sales tax exemption on Energy Star products of $1,500 or less per product, purchased for non-commercial home or personal use.The 100% exemption from the sales and use tax applies to sales occurring during the designated period of October 5th through October 7th of 2012. (For 2013, the designated period is October 4th through October 6th.)
The Renewable and Non-Renewable Resource tariff is authorized by the Georgia Public Service Commission (PSC), which requires that the investor owned utility, Georgia Power Company, purchase renewable energy cumulative to 0.2% of the Company's annual peak demand in the previous year. Georgia Power purchases renewable energy from eligible providers on a first-come, first-serve basis until the cumulative generating capacity of all renewable sources reaches a specific amount set by the Georgia Public Service Commission.
This entry lists the states with Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) policies that accept generation located in Georgia as eligible sources towards their RPS targets or goals. For specific information with regard to eligible technologies or other restrictions which may vary by state, see the RPS policy entries for the individual states, shown below in the Authority listings. Typically energy must be delivered to an in-state utility or Load Serving Entity, and often only a portion of compliance targets may be met by out-of-state generation.
The Protection of Tidewaters Act establishes the State of Georgia as the owner of the beds of all tidewaters within the State, except where title by a private party can be traced to a valid British Crown or State land grant. The Act provides the Department of Natural Resources the authority to remove those structures that are capable of habitation, or incapable of or not used for transportation.