'''''Note: Delaware law ([http://delcode.delaware.gov/title26/c010/index.shtml#1014 26 Del. C. § 1014]) requires the Delaware Public Service Commission (PSC), Delaware Electric Cooperative (DEC), and municipal utilities to develop interconnection rules using as a guide the Interstate Renewable Energy Council's (IREC) model interconnection rules and the U.S. Department of Energy's best practices for interconnection. This entry largely addresses the rules used by Delmarva Power, the state's largest utility. '''''
'''''Note: In June 2007, the Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) initiated a rulemaking process to establish statewide interconnection standards for distributed generation (DG). This proceeding is still in progress. Until the new official rules go into effect, the commission has recommended that the utilities use the [http://images.edocket.azcc.gov/docketpdf/0000074361.pdf Interconnection Document] as a guide. This document applies to systems up to 10 megawatts (MW) in capacity. '''''
Indiana allows taxpayers to take a deduction on solar-powered roof fans (or vent, also sometimes called an attic fan) installed in a home that the taxpayer owns or leases. The deduction is for 50% of the cost of the materials and installation labor, up to $1,000. Proof of costs and the names of the suppliers and/or installers are required.
The Illinois Clean Energy Community Foundation (ICECF) was established in December 1999 as an independent foundation with a $225 million endowment provided by Commonwealth Edison. The ICECF invests in clean-energy development and land-preservation efforts, working with communities and citizens to improve environmental quality in Illinois. The ICECF provides competitive grants to programs and projects that improve energy efficiency, develop renewable-energy resources, and preserve and enhance natural areas and wildlife habitats in Illinois.
In April 2007, Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick signed Executive Order 484, titled “Leading by Example: Clean Energy and Efficient Buildings.” This order establishes numerous energy targets and mandates for state government buildings under control of the executive office. The order directed state government agencies to procure 15% of annual electricity consumption from renewable sources by 2012 and 30% by 2020.
Note: The Green Communities Grant Program is no longer accepting applications. The deadline to receive official designation as a Green Community was October 30, 2012. For designated communities, the grant application period closed January 21, 2013.
The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency's (MHFA) Fix-up Loan provides low-interest financing for energy conservation and other basic improvements to residential properties. Home improvement loans range between $2,000 and $50,000 based on which energy efficient and renewable energy technologies are implemented. A higher loan amount may be available for improvements that enhance the accessibility of the home for a disable family member. Unsecured loans are available for up to $15,000. To be eligible for the loan, the home must be occupied by the property owner.
Net metering rules developed by the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) apply to the state's investor-owned utilities and electric cooperatives. Municipal utilities, which are not regulated by the commission, are exempt from the PRC rules but authorized to develop their own net metering programs.
In 2011, Connecticut created a new tax requiring electric power plants in the state that generate and upload electricity to the regional bulk power grid to pay $2.50 per megawatt hour. Renewable energy facilities and customer-sited facilities are exempt from the tax. The tax and related exemptions are scheduled to sunset October 1, 2013.