In June 2012, Connecticut passed legislation enabling Commercial Property Assessed Clean Energy financing (C-PACE), targeting commercial, industrial and multifamily property owners. C-PACE is a financial policy tool that allows property owners to finance qualifying energy efficiency and clean energy improvements on their properties through a special assessment on the property tax bill, which is repaid over a period of years (up to 20 years).
'''''Note: The Federal Housing Financing Agency (FHFA) issued a [http://www.fhfa.gov/webfiles/15884/PACESTMT7610.pdf statement] in July 2010 concerning the senior lien status associated with most PACE programs. In response to the FHFA statement, most local PACE programs have been suspended until further clarification is provided. '''''
Through a public-private partnership with PowerSouth, Alabama's Local Government Energy Loan Program offers zero-interest loans to local governments, K-12 schools, and public colleges and universities for renewable energy systems and energy efficiency improvements that will eventually have a payback through utility savings. Under the program, municipal and county governments, and colleges and universities may borrow up to $350,000 for eligible projects, and K-12 schools may receive up to $350,000 per campus or $500,000 per school system for eligible projects.
The Public Service Board (PSB) of Vermont developed rules regarding utility line extension requests. While the majority of the rules focus on the procedure followed (and associated fees) for the actual line extensions, the PSB also included a provision that requires the electric utilities to provide written information to customers about off-grid electricity generators as an alternative to line extensions.
Several provisions of Missouri law govern energy efficiency in state facilities. In 1993 Missouri enacted legislation requiring life-cycle cost analysis for all new construction of state buildings and substantial renovations of existing state buildings when major energy systems are involved. Substantial renovations involve projects that will affect at least 50% of the building's square footage or cost at least 50% of its market value.
The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) adopted "small generator" interconnection standards for distributed energy resources up to 20 megawatts (MW) in capacity in May 2005.* The FERC's standards apply only to facilities subject to the jurisdiction of the commission; these facilities mostly include those that interconnect at the transmission level. The FERC's standards generally do not apply to distribution-level interconnection, which is regulated by state public utilities commissions.
In February 2004, the Wisconsin Public Service Commission adopted interconnection standards for distributed generation (DG) systems up to 15 megawatts (MW) in capacity. All investor-owned utilities (IOUs) and municipal utilities are required to abide by the standard provisions. Electric cooperatives are encouraged -- but not required -- to adopt the state standards. The rules categorize DG systems by capacity and provide for several levels of interconnection review, as follows:
In September 2007, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) adopted interconnection standards for distributed generation (DG) systems up to 20 megawatts (MW) in capacity. The revised standards provide for two separate levels of interconnection based on system capacity. The first level applies to systems up to 300 kilowatts (kW).
The Texas Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) of 1999 included a provision that "a customer is entitled to have access to on-site distributed generation". As a result, the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) adopted interconnection standards in 1999. The rules apply to electrical generating facilities (consisting of one or more on-site distributed-generation units) located at a customer's point of delivery, with a maximum capacity of 10 megawatts (MW) and connected at a voltage less than 60 kilovolts (kV).