The solid waste statute applies to construction and demolition debris, appliances, recyclables, and the facilities that collect, process, and dispose of solid waste. DES oversees the management of solid waste through a combination of permitting, training , and compliance programs. The Act describes the system of permits established by the solid waste rules for authorizing construction, operation, and closure of solid waste management facilities. The act includes rules for waste-to-energy operations.
New Hampshire's "solar skyspace easement" provisions allow property owners to create solar easements in order to create and preserve a right to unobstructed access to solar energy. Easements remain in effect for at least 10 years, unless otherwise stated in writing. A model solar easement form is provided in New Hampshire Statutes Section 477:51.
New Hampshire offers a rebate for residential solar water-heating systems and solar space-heating systems. The rebate is equal to $1,500 for systems with an annual estimated output of 5.5 MMBTU to 19.9 MMBTU; $1,700 for systems with an annual estimated output of 20 MMBTU to 29.9 MMBTU; and $1,900 for systems with an annual estimated output of 30 MMBTU or more. Rebates will be awarded for eligible projects as long as program funding is available.
The New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission (PUC) is offering rebates of 30% of the installed cost of qualifying new residential bulk-fed, wood-pellet central heating boilers or furnaces. The maximum rebate is $6,000. To qualify, systems must (1) become operational on or after May 1, 2012; (2) be at least 80% efficient; (3) meet certain air quality standards; (4) provide at least 75% of a home heating-load needs; and (5) be installed by a qualified installer or a licensed plumber with wood-pellet central boiler system training.
New Hampshire’s renewable portfolio standard (RPS), established in May 2007, requires the state’s electricity providers -- with the exception of municipal utilities -- to acquire by 2025 renewable energy certificates (RECs) equivalent to 24.8% of retail electricity sold to end-use customers. The RPS includes four distinct standards for different types of energy resources; these are classified as Class I, Class II, Class III and Class IV.
New Hampshire enacted legislation (H.B. 1628) in July 2008 requiring the state's Public Utilities Commission (PUC) to establish and administer a rebate program for certain renewable-energy systems. There are two steps involved in the rebate-application process. Step one is a pre-approval application; step two is the final application. Both steps are required to receive the incentive. Rebates are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.
The Statute establishes programs and procedures for regulation of sources of radiation within the state, among states, and between the federal government and the state. A regulatory program maintains and oversees performance of nuclear materials and radiation equipment.
This entry lists the states with Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) policies that accept generation located in New Hampshire as eligible sources towards their RPS targets or goals. For specific information with regard to eligible technologies or other restrictions which may vary by state, see the RPS policy entries for the individual states, shown below in the Authority listings. Typically energy must be delivered to an in-state utility or Load Serving Entity, and often only a portion of compliance targets may be met by out-of-state generation.
The New Hampshire Pay for Performance (P4P) program works with large energy consumers to improve energy efficiency in their facilities. This program is available to commercial, industrial, and municipal facilities with an electrical demand of at least 100 kilowatts (during any of the previous 12 months) and/or that consume at least 1,000 MMBTU annually for space or process heating. It is also available to schools, universities, hospitals and other institutional facilities.