Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda September 28 and 29, 2016 NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

12:00 to 1:00 pm	Swearing in Ceremony for New EAC Members
12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting
12:00 to 1:00 pm	Registration
	Public Sign-up for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:20 pm	EAC Ethics Briefing for all Members
	Kate Gehringer, Office of General Council, DOE
1:20 to 1:35 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the June 2016 Meeting
	Sue Tierney, EAC Chair and Matthew Rosenbaum, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:35 to 1:50 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability's Programs and
	Initiatives
	Honorable Patricia Hoffman, Assistant Secretary for Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, DOE
1:50 to 2:30 pm	Presentation on 2016 paper sponsored by NOAA, "Future Cost-Competitive Electricity
	Systems and Their Impact on U.S. CO2 Emissions"
	Christopher Clack, Co-Author, University of Colorado Boulder
2:30 to 2:45 pm	Break
2:45 to 4:25 pm	Panel: Opportunities Presented by High-Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Transmission
	Moderator: Anjan Bose, EAC Member
	 Tomas Leander, Senior Vice President for Grid Systems in North America, ABB Michael Skelly, President, Clean Line Energy
	Dale Osborn, Consulting Advisor, MISO
	 Jay Caspary, Director, Research, Development & Tariff Studies, Southwest Power Pool
4:25 to 4:45 pm	Presentation on National Academy of Sciences report "The Power of Change:
•	Innovation for Development and Deployment of Increasingly Clean Electric Power
	Technologies"
	Paul Centolella and Clark Gellings, EAC Members
4:45 to 5:45 pm	Open Discussion on Industry Topics Relevant to DOE
	All EAC Members
5:45 to 5:50 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day One of September 2016 Meeting of the EAC
	Sue Tierney, EAC Chair
6:00 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff
	Pinzimini

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda September 28 and 29, 2016 NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 8:25 am	EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	Paul Centolella, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair
	- Update on Subcommittee Activities and Plans
8:25 to 9:05 am	EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	John Adams, EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Chair
	- Value of a VAr White Paper – Seek EAC Approval
9:05 to 9:45 am	EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	Merwin Brown, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair
	 Update on Biennial Storage Assessment and 5-Year Storage Plan – Seek EAC Approval
	- Update on High Penetration of Energy Storage Work Product (Chris Shelton)
9:45 to 10:00 am	Break
10:00 to 11:40 am	Panel: Grid Impacts of High Penetration of Plug-in Electric Vehicles
	Moderator: Ake Almgren, EAC Member
	Chris Nelder, Manager, Rocky Mountain Institute
	 Mateo Jaramillo, VP Products and Programs, Tesla
	 Tom Doughty, VP Customer and State Affairs, CAISO
	Watson Collins, Manager of Business Development, Eversource Energy
11:40 to 12:00 pm	Update on the Grid Modernization Initiative Working Group Activities and Plans Anjan Bose, Working Group Chair
12:00 to 12:15 pm	Update on the Clean Power Plan Working Group Activities and Plans Carl Zichella, EAC Vice Chair
12:15 to 12:25 pm	Public Comments Must register at time of check-in
12:25 to 12:30 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn September 2016 Meeting of the EAC Sue Tierney, EAC Chair