Summary Minutes of the

U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary of Energy Advisory Board Public Meeting

Committee Members: John Deutch, Co-Chair; Frances Beinecke, Rafael Bras, Albert Carnesale, Shirley

Ann Jackson, Deborah Jin, Paul Joskow, Arun Majumdar, Michael McQuade, Richard Meserve, Cherry Murray, Carmichael Roberts, Martha Schlicher, Ram

Shenoy, Dan Yergin

<u>Date and Time:</u> 11:00 – 11:35 AM, August 1, 2014

<u>Location:</u> Conference Call

<u>Purpose:</u> Meeting of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB)

<u>SEAB Staff:</u> Corey Williams-Allen, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

Meeting Summary

John Deutch, SEAB co-chair, opened the meeting at 11:00AM and asked Albert Carnesale, Task Force Chair, to present a summary of the findings/recommendations in the report. Dr. Carnesale thanked DOE staff for their help and provided an overview of the purpose of the task force, noting the questions that the Secretary of Energy charged the task force to address:

- 1. What are the current and likely future challenges to nuclear nonproliferation?
- 2. What should DOE be doing to help the United States Government (USG) prepare to meet those challenges?
- 3. What are DOE's current areas of emphasis in nuclear nonproliferation?
- 4. In what ways should DOE's nuclear nonproliferation efforts be modified and/or expanded?
- 5. What obstacles stand in the way of making the recommended changes in DOE's nuclear nonproliferation activities, and how might they be overcome?

Albert Carnesale proceeded to give a summary of the interim report's findings and recommendations to date in five areas: (I) setting objectives and priorities for DOE nuclear nonproliferation programs; (II) improving DOE nuclear policy integration, analysis, and advocacy; (III) strengthening DOE relationships with field offices, national laboratories, and production facilities; (IV) continuing and revitalizing U.S.-Russian nuclear security and nonproliferation cooperation; and (V) developing and implementing an investment strategy for nuclear nonproliferation research and development. Dr. Carnesale also noted that the interim report represents the task force's thoughts to date about the DOE nuclear nonproliferation enterprise and is not a complete response to the charge set forth by the Secretary.

Following Dr. Carnesale's overview, he discussed the balanced membership of the task force and entertained a few immediate questions from SEAB members about future directions of the task force

and how it plans to address/incorporate international cooperation on nuclear nonproliferation beyond that covered in the interim report.

John Deutch, SEAB co-chair, thanked Albert Carnesale for his leadership of the task force and for providing a thorough overview of the interim report's findings/recommendations. He asked if other SEAB members had any additional questions/comments to offer. There was minimal discussion among the members. With that, Dr. Deutch proceeded to open the floor for public comment.

Public Comment

No public comment.

Chair Wrap-Up

John Deutch, SEAB co-chair, thanked the task force chair, once again, for his hard work. Paul Joskow moved that the report be approved. Richard Meserve seconded the motion. There was unanimous agreement to approve the report and send it to the Secretary.

Meeting adjourned at 11:35 AM.

Respectfully Submitted:

Corey Williams-Allen, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

I hereby certify that these minutes of the August 1, 2014, SEAB teleconference are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

John Deutch, Chair