Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee

October 23, 2008 Eighth Meeting

Conference Call Minutes

A Federal Advisory Committee to the U.S. Secretary of Energy

Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee

I hereby certify that this transcript constitutes an accurate record of the Eighth Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee Conference held on October 23, 2008,

FOR Chris/Hall, Chair

Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee

7-6-2009

Date

Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee (URTAC)

Teleconference, October 23, 2008

Guido DeHoratiis, the DFO for the meeting, opened the meeting at 1:00 p.m. and asked the Chair, Chris Hall, to bring the meeting to order. Next, Mr. DeHoratiis relinquished control of the meeting to Committee Manager Ms. Elena Melchert who conducted a roll call of Committee members. Attending Committee members included: Chris Hall, Jeff Hall, Nancy Brown, Fred Julander, Jessica Cavens, Jeffrey Cline, William Daugherty, James Dwyer, Juliette Faulkner, Raymond Levey, Sandra Mark, Shahab Mohaghegh, Don Sparks, Nick Tew, Janet Weiss, and Sally Zinke. Not in attendance were Scott Anderson and Bob Hardage. Attending the meeting in Washington, D.C. was: Guido DeHoratiis, Designated Federal Officer, Elena Melchert, Committee Manager, and Mauri Lappinen of TMS, Inc., meeting recorder. Gary Covatch of the National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) was an observer. Mr. DeHoratiis noted that there were no attendees representing the public at the meeting and that he had not received any request to make any comments from any members of the public.

Sixteen members were present, exceeding the minimum 10 members required for a quorum.

Mr. DeHoratiis reviewed the approved agenda for the meeting. The Chair stated that the meeting was called to approve the final URTAC recommendations on the *2009 Draft Annual Plan*, which had been prepared and distributed in final form prior to the meeting. Mr. Hall thanked the Editing Subcommittee comprising Sally Zinke and Jim Dwyer for their extra efforts to finalize the document into a succinct and professional format since the last Committee meeting. Mr. Hall also thanked the Environmental Subcommittee for their revision to the Appendix A that had been discussed at the last Committee meeting on October 16 in Houston.

Voting began with the Chair asking for votes from Committee members that sought to reject the report and, in response, none were offered. Next, the Chair asked for minority opinions. A member noticed that on page 9 regarding environmental concerns, the Subcommittee recommended that the wording should be strengthened to read, "the DOE with the Department of Interior, establish an entity consisting of various parties including industries, NGO's…" instead of the "DOE work with various parties." It was noted that this wording was covered in the appendix. However, it was also noted that sometimes the wording in appendices are overlooked and that it would be more effective to make the statement in the main body of the document. The Committee accepted this minor change and at that point the Chair again asked for any new minority opinions and none were offered. Then, the full Committee cast their final vote to adopt the document, which passed with a unanimous vote.

The Chair then discussed the process of establishing a Subcommittee that would function in the interim period prior to the next full Committee meeting next fall. The Chair will be issuing an

email to all Committee members suggesting a role for the Subcommittee and seeking feedback from the Committee members by the end of November. Subcommittee members included Chris Hall, Sally Zinke, Janet Weiss, Shahab Mohaghegh, Nancy Brown, Jim Dwyer, Jessica Cavens, et al. Ms. Melchert also pointed out that all feedback on the Subcommittee proposal should be addressed to the Chair alone and not to the full Committee.

In response to a question, the Chair stated that the Committee recommendations report would be delivered after the vote to the Designated Federal Officer and that he would accept it on behalf of the Secretary of Energy. The meeting adjourned at 1:23 p.m.

The approved agenda for the meeting is appended.

Attachment 1



Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

8th Meeting Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee October 23, 2008 Conference Call Meeting

PUBLIC ACCESS: 955 L'Enfant Plaza North, SW, Suite 1500 Washington, DC

AGENDA

12:30 p.m. EASTERN Registration; Begin Member call in

1:00 p.m.

Roll Call; Opening Remarks by the Committee Chair; Remarks by Designated Federal Officer Report by the Editing Subcommittee; Member discussion regarding final report; Vote of Approval of Committee final report. Member discussion

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

APPROVED:

Guido DeHoratiis, Designated Federal Officer

Conference Call Instructions:

- Toll free number: 1-866-705-4225 for U.S. callers
- 1-203-280-8163 for International Callers
- Pass Code: 1318649

