

The Deputy Secretary of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

September 16, 2011

MEMORANDUM FOR DISTRIBUTION

FROM:

DANIEL B. PONEMAI

SUBJECT:

Report on Review of Requirements and Capabilities for Analyzing and Responding to Beyond Design Basis Events

Following the March 2011 accident at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant, the Department of Energy (DOE) took several actions to review the safety of its nuclear facilities. These actions focused on learning how DOE can better prepare to manage potential beyond design basis events. A summary of these actions and the resulting insights, and recommended opportunities and actions to improve nuclear safety at DOE, are included in the attached report.

I have directed the Office of Health, Safety and Security (HSS) to work with DOE's Nuclear Safety and Security Coordinating Council, and the Program and Field Offices of both DOE and the National Nuclear Security Administration, to develop a strategy to implement the recommended actions and report back to me by the end of September 2011.

Your support is crucial in this important effort. I expect all short-term actions identified in section 8.1 of the attached report to be completed by March 31, 2012, and all recommendations to be completed by December 31, 2012.

If you have any questions regarding this effort, please contact Dr. James O'Brien, Acting Director of HSS's Office of Nuclear Safety, at 301-903-3331, or james.o'brien@hq.doe.gov.

Attachment

<u>Distribution List for Report on review of requirements and capabilities for analyzing and responding to Beyond Design Basis Events</u>

Thomas D'Agostino, NA-1 David Huizenga, EM-1 David Geiser, LM-1 Peter Lyons, NE-1 William Brinkman, SC-1

<u>Courtesy Copy for Report on review of requirements and capabilities for analyzing and responding to Beyond Design Basis Events</u>

Melvin Williams, ADS Arunava Majumdar, AR-1 Owen Barwell, CF-1 Jeffrey Lane, CI-1 William Valdez, ED-1 Henry Kelly, EE-1 Howard Gruenspecht, EI-1 Charles McConnell, FE-1 Sean Lev, GC-1(Acting) Michael Kane, HC-1 Poli Marmolejos, HG-1 Glenn Podonsky, HS-1 Gregory Friedman, IG-1 Michael Locatis, IM-1 Edward Held, IN-1 Ingrid Kolb, MA-1 Patricia Hoffman, OE-1 Daniel Leistikow, PA-1 David Sandalow, PI-1 Stephen Wright, BPA Kenneth Legg, SEPA

Jon Worthington, SWPA Timothy Meeks, WAPA