You are here

The Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB) Task Force on Next Generation High Performance Computing

The Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB) Task Force on Next Generation High Performance Computing is composed of SEAB members and independent experts charged with reviewing the mission and national capabilities related to  next generation high performance computing. The Task Force will examine the challenge problems and opportunities that drive the need for next generation high performance computing, as well as the advances and necessary steps to create and execute a successful path that will deliver next generation computational performance. The Task Force report should include recommendations on whether and to what degree the U.S. Government should lead and accelerate the development of next generation high performance computing applications and systems.

Purpose of the Task Force:

The SEAB Next Generation High Performance Computing Task Force will examine and report on the following:

  • The justification for an exascale computing capability initiative.
    • DOE missions
    • Fundamental research opportunities
    • Broader societal benefits from an open, non-classified exascale program and potential market barriers inhibiting private development of exascale computin
  • Related basic research necessary to enable next generation high performance computing (e.g. mathematics, computer science, etc., including quantum and superconducting computing).
  • The current state of technology and plans for an exascale program in the
  • Department of Energy and other federal agencies.
  • Role of the Department of Energy in leading the development of exascale computing - including its involvement and collaboration with industry, universities and other government agencies on high performance computing.
  • Implications of data centric computing for exascale computing.


SEAB High Performance Computing Task Force Members:

  • Shirley Ann Jackson, Co-Chair, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute*
  • Michael McQuade, Co-Chair, United Technologies Corporation*
  • John Deutch (ex-officio), MIT and Former Under Secretary of Energy*
  • Persis Drell (ex-officio), Former Director, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory*
  • Roscoe Giles, Boston University
  • Jim Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Peter Highnam, IARPA
  • Anita Jones, University of Virginia
  • John Kelly, IBM
  • Steve Koonin, NYU Center for Urban Science and Progress*
  • Craig Mundie, Microsoft
  • Thomas Ohki, Raytheon BBN Technologies
  • Dan Reed, University of Iowa
  • Ram Shenoy, ConocoPhillips*
  • Kord Smith, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • John Tracy, Boeing

*SEAB Member

Designated Federal Official:

Amy Bodette, Deputy Director, Office of Secretarial Boards and Councils