You are here

Solar Construction Permitting Standards

Eligibility 
Commercial
Industrial
Local Government
Nonprofit
Residential
Agricultural
Savings Category 
Solar Water Heat
Solar Space Heat
Solar Photovoltaics
Program Info
Sector Name 
State
State 
Colorado
Program Type 
Solar/Wind Permitting Standards
Summary 

Owners of solar photovoltaic (PV) systems and solar water heating systems in Colorado are required to obtain a building permit before their systems may be installed. Permits are handled at the local level and awarded by counties and municipalities.

In May 2008, the legislature enacted a statewide cap for permit fees for active solar energy devices. For systems up to 2 MW-DC, counties and municipalities can charge no more than the lesser of the local government's actual cost to issue a permit or $500 for a residential application and $1,000 for a nonresidential application. For systems 2 MW-DC or larger, the local government can charge no more than what it actually costs the government to issue the permit. City and county permits combined may be larger than these limits but cannot individually exceed the limits. The same fee restrictions have also applied to agencies, institutions, authorities, and political subdivisions of the state since 2011.

The expiration date for the statutes that cap permitting fees is July 1, 2018.