You are here

Renewable Energy Tax Credit (Personal)

Eligibility 
Commercial
Residential
Savings Category 
Fuel Cells
Photovoltaics
Maximum Rebate 

Total amount of tax credits that may be used by all taxpayers is limited to $50,000.

Program Info
Start Date 

07/14/2006

State 
Nebraska
Program Type 
Personal Tax Credit
Rebate Amount 

Credits are available for a 10-year period:
$0.00075/kWh for electricity generated through 9/30/2007;
$0.001/kWh from 10/1/2007 - 12/31/2009;
$0.00075/kWh from 1/1/2010 - 12/31/2012;
$0.0005/kWh on or after 1/1/2013

Provider 
Nebraska Department of Revenue

Nebraska offers a production-based tax credit to any producer of electricity generated by wind, solar, geothermal, hydropower, fuel cells or methane gas. To qualify, a system must be placed into service on or after July 14, 2006. The credit allowed may be used to reduce the producer’s Nebraska income tax liability or to obtain a refund of state sales and use taxes paid by the producer. The initial requirement that a facility be at least one megawatt in rated capacity was eliminated in 2007 by [http://nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/100/PDF/Slip/LB367.pdf L.B. 367], which also made several other amendments. Another requirement that the facility result in zero pollution or emissions, which has prevented the use of this credit in the past, was removed by L.B. 360 of 2011.

The value of the credit is based on the amount of electricity produced, and the rate varies based on the year in which the electricity is generated according to the following schedule:

* 0.075 cents per kilowatt-hour ($0.00075/kWh) of electricity generated after July 14, 2006 but before October 1, 2007.
* 0.1 cent/kWh ($0.001/kWh) for electricity generated on or after October 1, 2007, and before January 1, 2010.
* 0.075 cents/kWh ($0.00075/kWh) for electricity generated on or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013.
* 0.05 cents/kWh ($0.0005/kWh) for electricity generated on or after January 1, 2013.

The credit may be earned for 10 years after the date that the facility is placed in operation on or after July 14, 2006.

The total amount of renewable energy tax credits that may be used by all taxpayers is limited to $50,000 without further authorization from the Nebraska Legislature.

This credit may not be claimed by a producer who receives a sales tax exemption for community-based energy development projects.

Other Information 

None specified