You are here

WECC releases its first-ever transmission plan for the Western Interconnection

The Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC) announced the release of its first 10-Year Regional Transmission Plan (Plan) for the Western Interconnection.

Looking ahead to 2020, the Plan focuses on how to meet the Western Interconnection’s transmission requirements; including transmission expansion, new generation development, adapting to local, state/provincial, and federal policy changes, and their associated financial and environmental costs.

The Plan provides policy- and decision-makers with observations and recommendations about the current state and future needs of the transmission system in the Western Interconnection. The Plan was developed through WECC’s Regional Transmission Expansion Planning (RTEP) project, as part of a grant from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

To expand upon its transmission planning activities, WECC received a $14.5 million award from the DOE in December 2009, as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

The Plan will first be provided to the DOE, and will then available to the public on WECC’s website ( Executive and Plan summary brochures will also be available by request.

The Plan expands on WECC’s existing transmission planning activities which are managed through WECC’s Transmission Expansion Planning Policy Committee. WECC has a long history of providing quality information on the current state and future needs of the transmission system in the Western Interconnection. The RTEP project has allowed WECC to increase the breadth and depth of those existing activities to provide a more detailed body of information on potential transmission system needs.

WECC is geographically the largest and most diverse of the eight Regional Entities that have Delegation Agreements with the North American Electric Reliability Corporation. WECC’s service territory extends from Canada to Mexico. It includes the provinces of Alberta and British Columbia, the northern portion of Baja California, Mexico, and all or portions of the 14 Western states between.