Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting March 12 and 13, 2014 NRECA Building, Arlington, VA

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

12:00 to 1:00 pm	Swearing in Ceremony and Ethics Briefing – For New EAC Members Kimberly Matthews-Williams, DOE Office of Executive Resources Brian Plesser, Attorney Advisor, DOE Office of General Counsel
12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting
12:00 to 1:00 pm	Registration Public Signup for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:10 pm	Welcome, Introductions and Developments since the June 2013 Meeting Richard Cowart, EAC Chair and David Meyer, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:10 to 1:30 pm	Update on the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability's (OE) 2014 Programs and Initiatives Honorable Patricia Hoffman, Assistant Secretary for Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability
1:30 to 2:15 pm	Keynote: Melanie Kenderdine, Director of the Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis
2:15 to 2:30 pm	Break
2:30 to 3:50 pm	Panel – Distributed Resource Integration Merwin Brown, CIEE, Moderator Clyde Loutan, CAISO Colin Murchie, SolarCity Dan Curran, EnerNOC Fred Fletcher, Burbank Water and Power
3:50 to 4:10 pm	EAC Member Discussion of Key Distribution Resource Integration Issues
4:10 to 4:20 pm	Break
4:20 to 5:10 pm	 EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Papers and Work Plan Wanda Reder, Smart Grid Subcommittee Chair Discussion of the Paper on Cyber Security Governance (Peters) Status of the Regulatory Policy Tools Paper (Centolella, Jensen, and Sloan) Status of the Paper on Distributed Resources (Brown, Sloan, Coe, Zichella)
5:10 to 5:30 pm	EAC Member Discussion of Smart Grid Subcommittee Plans
5:30 to 5:45 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day One of March 2014 Meeting of the EAC Richard Cowart, EAC Chair
5:45 to 7:45 pm	EAC Member and DOE Staff Reception and Dutch Treat Dinner

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting March 12 and 13, 2014 NRECA Building, Arlington, VA

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 9:20 am	Panel – Post-Sandy: Lessons for Grid Resilience Mike Heyeck, EAC Transmission Subcommittee Chair, Bob Curry, Moderator. • David Owens, EEI • Ralph LaRossa, PSEG • Stephen Whitley, NYISO • Bill Bryan, U.S. Department of Energy
9:20 to 9:40 am	EAC Discussion of Storm Panel Topics
9:40 to 10:30 am	 EAC Transmission Subcommittee Activities and Plans Mike Heyeck, EAC Transmission Subcommittee Chair Discussion of Grid Resiliency and Aging Transmission Assets Paper (Heyeck) Status of Paper on The Technology R&D Roadmap for the 21st Century Electric Grid (Heyeck) Subcommittee renaming and possible merger with Smart Grid Subcommittee (Heyeck, Reder)
10:30 to 10:50 am	EAC Member Discussion of Transmission Subcommittee Plans
10:50 to 11:10 am	Break
11:10 to 11:50 am	DOE Energy Storage Program Update Dr. Imre Gyuk, Energy Storage Program Manager
11:50 to 12:40 pm	EAC Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plans Ralph Masiello, Subcommittee Chair - Status of Paper on Distributed Storage Testing and Safety - Status of Biennial Storage Program Review
12:40 to 2:00 pm	Lunch on your own – Local Restaurants
2:00 to 2:20 pm	EAC Discussion and Decision on Storage Subcommittee Plans and Recommendations
2:20 to 2:25 pm	Public Comments Must register at time of check in
2:25 to 2:40 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn March 2014 Meeting of the EAC Richard Cowart, EAC Chair