Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda June 1 and 2, 2016

NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

12:00 to 1:00 pm 12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting Registration Public Sign-up for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:20 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the March 2016 Meeting Richard Cowart, EAC Chair and Matthew Rosenbaum, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:20 to 1:40 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability's Programs and Initiatives Honorable Patricia Hoffman, Assistant Secretary for Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, DOE
1:40 to 2:10 pm	DOE Presentation, EV Everywhere Challenge Bob Graham, Director, EV Everywhere Challenge, DOE
2:10 to 2:40 pm	Presentation on NAE Report: Analytic Research Foundations for the Next-Generation Electric Grid Ralph Masiello, Quanta Technology & John Guckenheimer, Cornell University
2:40 to 3:25 pm	Overview of DOE Grid Modeling Efforts & Memorandum of Understanding Ali Ghassemian, Advanced Grid Modeling Program Manager, DOE
3:25 to 3:40 pm	Break
3:40 to 5:25 pm	Panel: Transactive Energy Moderator: Paul Centolella, EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Chair • Dr. Lynne Kiesling, Associate Professor of Instruction in Economics, Northwestern University • Dr. Richard Tabors, MIT Energy Initiative • Dr. Srinivas Katipamula, Staff Scientist, PNNL • Curt Kirkeby, Fellow Engineer, Avista Utilities
5:25 to 5:45 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day One of June 2016 Meeting of the EAC Richard Cowart, EAC Chair
5:45 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff Il Forno

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda June 1 and 2, 2016

NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 8:20 am	EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Activities and Plans Paul Centolella, EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Chair EAC Member Discussion of Smart Grid Subcommittee Work Products & Plans
8:20 to 8:40 am	EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Activities and Plans David Till, EAC Power Delivery Subcommitee Chair Value of a VAr Work Product Discussion EAC Member Discussion of Power Delivery Subcommittee Work Products & Plans
8:40 to 9:00 am	EAC Member Discussion of the FERC Technical Conference on June 1
9:00 to 9:30 am	EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plans Ramteen Sioshansi, EAC Member - High Penetration of Energy Storage Work Product - Biennial Storage Assessment and 5-Year Plan - EAC Member Discussion of Energy Storage Subcommittee Work Products & Plans
9:30 to 9:40 am	EAC Member Discussion of Grid Modernization Initiative Working Group Activities and Plans Anjan Bose, EAC Member and Working Group Chair
9:40 to 9:50 am	EAC Member Discussion of Clean Power Plan Working Group Activities and Plans Carl Zichella, EAC Member and Working Group Chair
9:50 to 10:05 am	Break
10:05 to 12:00 pm	 Panel: Storage Market Environment: Reports from Experts in the Field Moderator: Chris Shelton, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Vice Chair Ellen Anderson, Executive Director, University of Minnesota Energy Transition Lab Michael Toomey, Project Director, Storage, NextEra Energy Resources Praveen Kathpal, Vice President, AES Energy Storage Doug Davie, Vice President, Wellhead Electric
12:00 to 12:10 pm	Public Comments Must register at time of check-in
12:10 to 12:30 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn June 2016 Meeting of the EAC Richard Cowart, EAC Chair