

THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR GOVERNMENT HOUSE

Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00802 340-774-0001

March 4, 2009

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

Re: State Energy Program Assurances

Dear Secretary Chu:

As a condition of receiving our State share of the \$3.1 billion funding for the State Energy Program (SEP) under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), P.L. 111-5, I am providing the following assurances. I have written to the chairman of our Public Service Commission and requested that it consider additional actions to promote energy efficiency, consistent with the statutory requirements set forth in the ARRA and its obligations to maintain just and reasonable rates, while protecting the public. I have also written to the Commissioner of the Department of Planning and Natural Resources and the Chairman of the Committee on Economic Development, Energy and Technology in the 28th Legislature of the Virgin Islands and requested that they take necessary action to strengthen our building energy codes, consistent with the requirements set forth in the ARRA, Territorial law and the relevant provisions of the International Energy Conservation Code.

In addition, we are prioritizing our energy investments to take advantage of existing energy efficiency programs and to expand these programs where appropriate.

The Virgin Islands is committed to a robust improvement in energy efficiency and renewable energy, as well as a balanced comprehensive Territorial energy policy. Accordingly, I want to assure you that, within the limits of my authority, we will move forward expeditiously in these critical areas.

The Honorable Steven Chu March 4, 2009 Page 2

We look forward to immediate distribution of our full allocation of Federal SEP funds which will enable the Virgin Islands to make progress in energy efficiency and renewable energy.

Respectfully submitted,

John P. de Jo

Governor

cc: Gil Sperling

Director, Office of Weatherization and Intergovernmental Programs U.S. Department of Energy

Bevan R. Smith Jr., Energy Director

David Terry, Executive Director, National Association of State Energy Officials