Nuclear Energy Research Advisory Committee (NERAC) Meeting of November 3 and 4, 2003 Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 1489 Jefferson Davis Highway Crystal City, Virginia

Agenda

Monday, November 3

9:00 - 9:15	Registration	
9:15 - 9:30	Welcome/Opening Remarks	Bill Magwood
	Introduction of Members – All	
9:30 - 9:45	NERAC Status and Charter	Mark Roth
9:45 – 10:15	NE Program Status and FY04 Budget	Bill Magwood
10:15 – 10:30	NERAC, the President's Climate Change Initiative and the Role of Nuclear Power: Setting the Stage	William Martin
10:30 – 10:45	Break	
10:45 – 11:45	EIA Presentation on Data, Assumptions and Modeling	Howard Gruenspecht
11:45 – 12:00	Break	
12:00 - 2:00	Working Lunch - Dynamic Simulation of Energy and Environmental Policies: The Role of Nuclear	Dr. Arnold Baker
2:00 - 3:00	"What Have We Learned? Where Do We Go From Here?"	Dr. John Ahearne
3:00 - 6:00	Presentation and Discussion of Subcommittee Reports and Other Items of Business • Idaho Infrastructure Task Force	Dr. John Ahearne Mark Roth
	 Idaho Infrastructure Task Force Presentation: Introduction to Nuclear Engineering – A Web-Based Course Paradigm Presentation on status of DOE/EPA effort 	Dr. Robert Long Dr. Michael Corradini Chuck Wade

- Establishment of Independent Subcommittee to Evaluate NE Programs
- Afternoon Break as convenient

6:00 Adjourn **6:30** Dinner

Speaker – Professor Ernest J. Moniz, Director of Energy Studies, Laboratory for Energy and the Environment, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tuesday, November 4

9:00 - 10:30	Continue Monday afternoon discussions	Dr. John Ahearne Mark Roth		
	 Report of the Subcommittee on Advanced Nuclear Transformation Technologies 	Dr. Burton Richter		
10:30 – 10:45 Break				
10:45 – 12:00	Open Committee Discussion	William Martin		
12:00 – 12:30	Public Discussion Period	Mark Roth		
 12:30 – 1:00 Wrap-up, next steps and adjourn. (No lunch served on Tuesday) Scheduling of next meetings 				

NUCLEAR ENERGY RESEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS

William F. Martin, Chairman

John Ahearne, Vice Chairman

Sigma Xi and Duke University

Silvia S. Jurrison

Corbin McNeill

Richard A. Meserve

University of Missouri¹

Exelon Corporation (retired)¹

Carnegie Institution of Washington¹

Harold B. Ray

Southern California Edison¹

Michael B. Sellman

Jerry Paul

The way B. Gerlman

Nuclear Management Corporation¹

Florida House of Representatives¹

Nuclear Management Corporation¹

Florida House of Representatives¹

Thomas B. Cochran

National Resources Defense Council

Joseph R. Comfort

University of Arizona

Joseph R. Comfort

Michael L. Corradini

Jose Luis M. Cortez

University of Arizona
University of Wisconsin
University of Texas

Allen G. Croff
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Marvin S. Fertel
Nuclear Energy Institute

Steve Fetter University of Maryland

Beverly K. Hartline Argonne National Laboratory (retired)

Andrew C. Klein Oregon State University
Dale E. Klein Department of Defense
Robert L. Long Nuclear Stewardship, LLC

Warren F. Miller Los Alamos National Laboratory (retired)

Sekazi K. Mtingwa Harvard University
Richard Reba Georgetown University

Joy Lynn Rempe Idaho National Engineering and

Environmental Laboratory Delaware State University National Cancer Institute

Daniel C. Sullivan

Charles E. Till

Neil E. Todreas

National Cancer Institute

Argonne National Laboratory (retired)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Allen L. Sessoms

¹ New members appointed to NERAC by Secretary Abraham.