Secretary of Energy Advisory Board Meeting Agenda

Argonne National Laboratory Building 401 9700 S. Cass Avenue Lemont, IL 60439 April 17, 2012

8:30 AM-9:00 AM **Closed Tour of Advanced Photon Source** Eric Isaacs, Director of Argonne National Laboratory 9:00 AM-9:15 AM Welcome & Overview Chairman William Perry Co-Chair Nicholas Donofrio 9:15 AM-10:00 AM **Remarks from the Secretary** Secretary Steven Chu 10:00 AM-10:45 AM Transformative Role of Computation and 'Big Data' Ian Foster, Director, Computation Institute Transportation Technology R&D Presentation 10:45 AM-11:45 AM Don Hillebrand, Director, Energy Systems 11:45 AM-12:45 PM Materials Solutions for the Energy Economy Peter Littlewood, Associate Laboratory Director 12:45 PM-1:00 PM **SMR Subcommittee Report** Nicholas Donofrio, Frances Beinecke (tentative - by phone) Lunch Break 1:00 PM-2:30 PM 2:30 PM-3:00 PM **Buildings Subcommittee Report** Steven Westly, Michael McQuade, Art Rosenfeld 3:00 PM-3:15 PM Shale Gas Subcommittee Update since Report Renee Stone **Public Comment** 3:15 PM-3:45 PM 3:45 PM Adjournment