You are here

DOE Cyber Distinguished Speaker Series

DOE Cyber Distinguished Speaker Series

October DOE CDSS:  A Look Forward

Recognizing the importance of cybersecurity awareness, President Obama designated October as National Cybersecurity Awareness Month (NCSAM). NCSAM is a collaborative, interagency effort to raise awareness about the importance of cybersecurity and individual cyber hygiene.

In celebration of NCSAM, the October DOE Cyber Distinguished Speaker Series will feature John MacWilliams, Associate Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy, and Michael Johnson, Chief Information Officer of the U.S. Department of Energy. As the Chief Risk Officer for the Department, Mr. MacWilliams will discuss the Enterprise Risk Management and the importance of identifying, analyzing, responding to, and monitoring risks and opportunities. Mr. Johnson will focus on the future of cyber and mitigating the challenges in the complex ecosystem of the Department.

We live in a world that is more connected than ever. With compounding growth of connected technologies – cars, household appliances, finances, healthcare, and more being increasingly managed by smart devices, we are confronted with the need for increased awareness to secure cutting-edge, technical innovations. During week four of NCSAM, we look to the future of cyber and review how DOE is working to develop mechanisms to enable data-driven, risk-based decisions to defend the Department.

NCSAM is a collaborative, interagency effort to raise awareness about the importance of cybersecurity and individual cyber hygiene. To learn more, please visit

Join the conversation through your social media outlets using hashtag #CyberAware.

This series can be accessed live from your desktop via the following link:

Our October DOE CDSS printable poster is available here.

Previous Speaker:  Dr. Winfried K. Hensinger

Aug CDSS_pic2(crop).jpgDr. Winfried Hensinger – Professor of Quantum Technologies, Ion Quantum Technology Group, Department of Physics and Astronomy (University of Sussex)

Dr. Hensinger heads the University of Sussex’ Ion Quantum Technology Group, and also serves as the Director of the Sussex Centre for Quantum Technologies.  His group works on constructing trapped-ion quantum computer demonstrator devices, quantum simulation engines, as well as portable quantum sensors in collaboration with a number of academic and industrial partners.

To watch a recording of this event, please see the U.S. Department of Energy’s YouTube channel below:






Cyber Distinguished Speaker Series: Background Information

The Cyber Distinguished Speaker Series kicked off in November, 2015, in conjunction with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Cybersecurity Awareness Month, and provides a venue to share information on cyber topics, promote best practices from the public and private sectors, and engage with world-renowned cyber experts from the U.S. Government, industry, and academia on advanced.  

Sponsored by the U.S Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO), the ultimate goal is to raise awareness within the diverse cyber community; provide a structure for the government and private sector to (cost-effectively) assess vulnerabilities; and propose readily available resources to help the government, and its stakeholders, to further reduce risks.

Because cybersecurity is quickly growing and always evolving, this series assures that the information presented is fresh, relevant, and derived from a variety of perspectives.

Previous speakers include:

  • Dr. Winfried Hensinger, Director of the Sussex Centre for Quantum Technologies (University of Sussex)
  • Dr. Gregg Shannon, Assistant Director for Cyber Security Strategy (White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy)
  • Adrian Cockcroft, Technology Fellow (Battery Ventures L.P)
  • Evan Wolff, Privacy & Cybersecurity Lead and Partner (Crowell & Moring)
  • Mossadeq Zia, DevOps Engineer (18F)
  • Marissa Newhall, Director of Digital Strategy and Communications (Department of Energy)
  • Alla Seiffert, Consulting Acquisitions Team (18F)
  • Alison Rowland, Lead Back-End Engineer (CDS)
  • Gabriel Ramirez, Back-end Developer (18F)
  • Eric Sporre, Deputy Assistant Director of the Cyber Operations Branch (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
  • Dr. Christine Pommerening, Associate Research Professor (George Mason University)
  • Dr. Gloria Washington, Assistant Cybersecurity and Computer Science Professor (Howard University)
  • Dr. Jane LeClair, Chief Operating Officer of the National Cybersecurity Institute (Excelsior College)
  • Cathy Hubbs, Head of Information Security Programs (American University)

The DOE encourages participation from all cybersecurity and information resource professionals; including members of DOE’s workforce, as well as staffers and senior leadership from across the federal government, private industry, and academia.

This series can be accessed live from your desktop via the following link: