You are here

TOMORROW: Department of Energy to Announce Philips Lighting North America Wins L Prize Competition

August 2, 2011 - 10:03am


Washington, D.C. – On Wednesday, August 3, 2011, Arun Majumdar, Senior Advisor to the Secretary and Director of Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) at the U.S. Department of Energy, will announce Philips Lighting North America has won the 60-watt replacement bulb category of the Bright Tomorrow Lighting Prize (L Prize) competition at an event hosted by U.S. Senators Jeff Bingaman and Lisa Murkowski in the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources hearing room. The Department of Energy’s L Prize challenged the lighting industry to strive to develop high performance, energy-saving replacements for conventional light bulbs that will save American consumers and businesses money. Philips developed a highly efficient light emitting diode (LED) bulb to meet rigorous requirements of the L Prize competition – ensuring that performance, quality, lifetime, cost and availability meet expectations for widespread adoption and mass manufacturing.

Launched in 2008, the Energy Department’s L Prize competition targets the 60-watt bulb because it is one of the most widely used types of light bulbs by consumers, representing roughly half of the domestic incandescent light bulb market. Every year it is estimated that more than 425 million 60-watt incandescent light bulbs are sold in the United States alone. The energy-saving replacement for 60-watt conventional bulbs must use less than 10 watts of power, to reach an energy savings of 83 percent. If every 60-watt incandescent bulb in the U.S. was replaced with the 10-watt L Prize winner, the nation would save about 35 terawatt-hours of electricity or $3.9 billion in one year and avoid 20 million metric tons of carbon emissions. That's enough electricity to power the lights of nearly 18 million U.S. households, or nearly triple the annual electricity consumption in Washington, D.C.

WHO: U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-New Mexico)
U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
Arun Majumdar, Senior Advisor to the Secretary & Director, Advance Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E), U.S. Department of Energy
Zia Eftekhar, CEO, Professional Luminaires Business, Philips North America
WHAT: Announcement of L Prize Winner
WHEN: Wednesday, August 3, 2011 at 10:00 AM EDT
WHERE: U.S. Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources Hearing Room
Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room SD-366
Washington, D.C.