You are here

Department of Energy Announces 24 Nuclear Energy Research Awards to U.S. Universities

December 15, 2005 - 4:46pm


$12 Million in Support to Be Provided for Innovative R&D Projects

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced 24 research awards totaling $12 million over three years to U.S. universities to engage students and professors in DOE's advanced nuclear energy research and development programs, including the Advanced Fuel Cycle Initiative, Generation IV Nuclear Energy Systems Initiative and Nuclear Hydrogen Initiative.

"These awards support the department's advanced nuclear technology development efforts and foster the education and training of the next generation of scientists and engineers needed to move this vital industry forward," Secretary of Energy Samuel W. Bodman said.

The awards - under the Nuclear Energy Research Initiative (NERI) - support innovative research addressing key emerging nuclear energy issues in the United States. The awards allow the selected universities to participate directly in the agency's efforts to develop advanced nuclear technologies that will enhance the Nation's environment and support an economy that is less reliant on imported fossil fuels.  The universities will be directly involved in an integrated team relationship with the department and its national laboratories.

The 24 projects announced today were selected on the basis of a rigorous peer review of 144 proposals from universities across the United States.  The selected projects will be conducted at 17 U.S. universities in 16 states.  The awards are for two to three-year periods.  The total estimated funding for the awards over these periods ranges from $250,000 to $750,000, contingent on appropriations.  The new awards will bring the total number of universities participating in the NERI program in Fiscal Year 2006 to 59.

Additional information on these awards is available at the Office of Nuclear Energy, Science and Technology's website:

2006 Nuclear Energy Research Initiative Awards (PDF 39 KB)

Media contact(s):

Jacqueline Johnson, 202/586-5806